The good the bad and the clicky

I welcome myself back to wordpress after a short stint of bone-idleness, please, hold your applause, the blog post will commence shortly..

I got into the mechanical keyboard club late, they ate all the party rings and most of bread sticks were gone, but I wanted to see what all the fuss was about.

I used to use a really old and grubby Dell keyboard that was way past its used by date, the escape key had fell off and it felt like I was typing on 10 year old omelette.

I promptly threw the crusty turd at the wall and set out trying to find something better that would last more then a year (after recovering said crusty turd and typing amazon.co.uk)

I wanted one of those cool mechanical keyboard that all those YouTubers with their skinny jeans and slick backed hair were banging on about, so I set out to look for one only to find that most looked like this:

CRSK95P_22_678x452
Oh dear god

I searched all over only to find many that were like the above.

I am a simple man of simple pleasures and garish lights that look like a bad LSD trip are not my jam, I don’t care what the teenyboppers are having, I want something that will not give me epilepsy when I plug it in, thank you very much.

So I searched some more and some more and some more.

And eventually I settled on one that would not burn the rainbow into my retinas and I have not looked back since:

1441424076538
Now that’s what I am talking about

 

The Noppoo Lolita Spyder with Cherry Brown switches was the one I ended up opting for in the end, I have replaced the keycaps on mine to have a more retro aesthetic:

7001960352723076830-account_id1.jpg
Sumptuous 

Since I live on an island in the middle of the ocean I have opted for the UK layout, I really like these keycaps, they are slightly textured and the switches are not too clicky so people do not turn up at my door with pitchforks and torches in the middle of the night when I am having a heavy session of Warhammer: Total War.

Either way my adventure through the strange and wonderful world of mechanical keyboards means that I will never not have one again.

I can feel my wallet writing with disdain at the thought.

Tara

The bloke who writes these shite blog posts

 

Leave a Reply

